Bowie State University Scholarships (2026–2027)
← Back to college scholarships hub • See Maryland aid & Grants
Last Updated on November 2, 2026- Tuition, housing, and average family net price
- Automatic merit ranges and qualifier benchmarks
- Flagship and hidden-gem awards
- Honors and stacking strategy
📊 Admissions Snapshot
- Acceptance Rate: ~72%
- Middle 50% ACT: Not reported (test-optional)
- Middle 50% SAT: Not reported (test-optional)
- Average GPA: N/A
Bowie State is Maryland’s first HBCU. It started in 1865 as a school for training teachers in Baltimore, and today it serves about 5,100 undergraduates on a suburban campus in Prince George’s County, between Washington, Baltimore, and Annapolis. About three out of four freshmen are Maryland residents, and roughly 7 in 10 applicants get in. Students with a 2.5 GPA or higher can apply without SAT or ACT scores.
Here’s the thing to understand before you look at any numbers: Bowie is affordable because its sticker price is low, not because it hands out a lot of its own money. Most families here pay for college with Pell Grants, Maryland grants, and loans.
Comparing multiple schools? Try the Scholarship Tool to search by GPA, test scores, and state →
📌 Bowie State University at a Glance
- There is no automatic merit scholarship grid. Getting admitted with good grades does not trigger a guaranteed award. Federal data show only about 2% of recent freshmen got any grant from Bowie itself.
- The big award is invitation-only and needs test scores. The Honors Program covers tuition, fees, books, room and board, but you need a 3.5 GPA plus a 1200 SAT or 25 ACT, and Bowie invites students to apply after admission. Skipping the SAT because admission is test-optional quietly takes your student out of the running.
- Donor scholarships use their own application. It lives in Scholarship Universe and is open only from November 1 to February 15. Admission does not enter you automatically.
- Maryland families: file the FAFSA by March 1. That date unlocks Maryland’s need-based grants and Bowie’s own need-based grant. One Bowie page still says June 1 for state aid, but Maryland’s commission lists March 1, so go with the earlier date.
- Test-optional has a floor. Bowie only admits without scores when the high school GPA is 2.5 or higher.
FAQ
Is this college test-optional? Yes, for admission. Bowie State University is test-optional for admission, but scholarships can work differently (see the next question).
Do you need test scores for scholarships at Bowie State University? Test-optional to get in with a 2.5+ GPA, and there is no automatic merit grid. The Honors Program full scholarship requires a 1200 SAT or 25 ACT.
What is the middle 50% ACT/SAT? ACT: Not reported (test-optional); SAT: Not reported (test-optional).
Average net price? About $17,287/year after aid.
Does this school use waivers/reciprocity? No broad regional reciprocity path.
Bowie State Honors Program: Benefits: https://bowiestate.edu/academics/special-programs/undergraduate-honors-program/benefits.php
Bowie State Bulldog Cyber Scholarship: https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarship-opportunities/other-scholarships/bulldog-cyber-scholarship.php
Bowie State Freshman Admissions: Financial Aid Dates: https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/undergraduate-admissions/freshman-admissions.php
Bowie State Scholarship Opportunities: https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarship-opportunities/
Bowie State Noyce Scholarship: https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarship-opportunities/other-scholarships/noyce-scholarship.php
Bowie State Band Scholarship: https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarship-opportunities/other-scholarships/bsu-band-scholarship.php
Bowie State Pillars of Success Scholarships: https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarship-opportunities/pillars-of-success-scholarships.php
CollegeScorecard / Admissions: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/
💰 Cost of Attendance at Bowie State University: 2026–2027 Rates
Figures verified against official sources in November 2026.
📅 Planning for 2027–2028? These are the 2026–2027 rates, the newest Bowie State University has published. Colleges usually release next year's costs in the spring, and we update this page when they do.
Budgeting tip: costs typically rise 2% to 5% a year. For 2027–2028, plan on roughly $500 to $1,200 more than the in-state total below. $700 to $1,800 more than the out-of-state total below.
| Tuition & mandatory fees | $9,894 |
| Housing & meals (typical) | $14,791 |
| Total billed cost | $24,685 |
| Tuition & mandatory fees | $21,047 |
| Housing & meals (typical) | $14,791 |
| Total billed cost | $35,838 |
That is $11,153 more per year than Maryland residents pay, before any waivers or scholarships.
Average federal net price: $17,287 per year. This is what first-time, full-time students who received grant aid paid after grants and scholarships, for in-state students only, based on the most recent federal data. It counts books and living costs, so it can run higher than the billed total above. Families who got no grants are not in this average, so many middle-income families pay more. New to Net Price & SAI? Read our guide.
Out-of-state families: this average does not include you. Run the college's own net price calculator for a number based on your situation.
Bowie doesn’t offer a regional tuition discount, and we couldn’t confirm any Academic Common Market majors open to students from other states. The real paths to the in-state rate are Maryland-specific: the Maryland Dream Act for eligible graduates of Maryland high schools, DACA recipients who have held that status for 12 months, and certain military families, veterans, and Maryland National Guard members. Everyone else from out of state pays the full non-resident rate, and Bowie has no automatic merit money to soften it.
FAQ: Cost of Attendance at Bowie State University
What does a year at Bowie State cost before aid?
For 2026-27, tuition and mandatory fees are $9,894 for Maryland residents and $21,047 for out-of-state students. Add about $14,791 for a standard double room and the main meal plan, and the direct bill comes to roughly $24,700 in-state or $35,800 out-of-state.
Why is the out-of-state price more than double?
Tuition itself jumps from $6,360 to $17,513 for non-residents. The roughly $3,500 in mandatory fees is the same for everyone, so the whole gap comes from tuition.
Are housing costs the same in every dorm?
No. The least expensive doubles (Tubman and Holmes) run about $7,873 a year, Towers doubles about $8,227, and suite-style rooms in the Entrepreneur Living and Learning Community or the Christa McAuliffe Residential Community can run $10,700 to $13,700. The two most common meal plans cost about $6,564 a year, and a 10-meal plan is about $5,377.
What isn’t included in the bill?
Books and supplies (federal estimates use about $2,500 a year), personal expenses, travel home, parking, and some lab or exam fees. They don’t show up on your Bowie bill, but they’re real money.
Does a low family income mean a much lower price?
Not as much as you’d expect. In the latest federal data, Maryland families earning under $30,000 paid about $17,071 after grants, and families earning $48,000 to $75,000 paid about $19,163. Because Bowie has very little institutional grant money, the price doesn’t drop much as income drops. That gap usually gets filled with loans or work.
Can out-of-state students switch to in-state tuition later?
Only by meeting Maryland’s residency rules. That means 12 straight months of making Maryland your permanent home for reasons other than school, with things like a Maryland driver’s license and state tax filing. Petitions are due by the end of add/drop for the term.
How fast are costs going up?
Tuition has risen about 2% a year lately, but fees climbed 7.3% for 2026-27 (the athletic fee alone went up 15%). Housing and meal rates jumped 10% this year. Budget for increases every year.
https://www.usmd.edu/usm/adminfinance/budget/FY2027/BSU_Tuition_and_Fees_2027.pdf
https://bowiestate.edu/about/administration-and-governance/division-of-administration-and-finance/office-of-student-accounts-archived/tuition-and-fees/housing-and-meal-fees.php
https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/undergraduate-admissions/residency-information.php
https://nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator/?id=162007
📅 Bowie State Money Timeline (Simple Version)
- October 1: FAFSA opens. File early, because Bowie’s own need-based grant goes out first come, first served.
- November 1 to February 15: Donor scholarship application is open in Scholarship Universe.
- March 1: FAFSA on file for Maryland state grants and Bowie’s institutional need-based grant.
Parent rule of thumb: if your student wants a shot at the Honors full scholarship, apply for admission in the December 1 round and send test scores. Invitations go to admitted students, and the program fills.
Automatic Merit Scholarships at Bowie State University
This institution does not offer designated Automatic Merit scholarships at this time.
Note: The Maryland programs that appear in this section are state money, not Bowie money. Most require Maryland residency and a FAFSA (or the MHEC One-App) by March 1. Use the in-state / out-of-state toggle above to see what applies to your family.
Automatic Aid: FAQs (Bowie State University)
Does Bowie State give automatic merit scholarships?
Not in any published, guaranteed way. Bowie’s single big merit award, the Honors Program full scholarship, requires an invitation and an application. Everything else is need-based, donor-funded, or department-based.
Bowie says the application includes “automatic scholarship consideration.” What does that mean?
It means Bowie may review admitted students for awards without a separate form, but it doesn’t say who qualifies or for how much. Don’t build a budget around it. If an award shows up in your student’s aid offer, great. Plan as if it won’t.
What aid do Maryland residents get just for filing the FAFSA?
File by March 1 and your student is considered for Maryland’s need-based grants, including the Howard P. Rawlings Educational Assistance Grant (up to $3,000 a year) and the Guaranteed Access Grant for students with the highest need. Filing by March 1 also gets them reviewed for Bowie’s own need-based grant.
Is there anything automatic for out-of-state students?
No. Out-of-state students don’t qualify for Maryland grants, and Bowie has no automatic tuition discount for non-residents. Federal Pell, the donor scholarship application, and departmental awards are the main options.
Does Bowie superscore the SAT or ACT?
Bowie doesn’t publish a superscore policy. Scores only matter for the Honors full scholarship, so if your student is near the 1200 SAT or 25 ACT line, ask the Honors office directly how they read multiple test dates.
What about Maryland’s Delegate and Senatorial scholarships?
These come from your local state legislators, not Bowie. Your student files the FAFSA, then contacts their state senator and delegates in early spring to ask about the application. They’re easy to forget and often have very few applicants.
https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/financial-aid/
https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/undergraduate-admissions/freshman-admissions.php
https://mhec.maryland.gov/preparing/Pages/FinancialAid/ProgramDescriptions/prog_ea.aspx
https://nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator/?id=162007
🏆 Flagship Scholarships (Competitive Scholarships)
✅ Can You Stack Aid at Bowie State?
| Aid Type | Stacks? | Bowie Parent Translation |
|---|---|---|
| Honors Program Full Scholarship | Gets adjusted | It already covers the full bill, so Bowie may reduce it if other scholarships or grants come in. |
| Donor Scholarships (Scholarship Universe) | Usually yes | These sit on top of Pell and Maryland grants, up to the total cost of attendance. |
| Pell + Maryland grants | Yes | This is the base layer for most Bowie families. FAFSA by March 1. |
| Band / ROTC / Department awards | Often yes | Check the award letter for “replacement” language, especially with ROTC. |
| Federal service scholarships (CyberCorps, Noyce) | Ask first | Large awards with work paybacks. Bowie doesn’t publish how they combine with other aid. |
The honest picture: Bowie isn’t a school where an essay competition is going to change your bill by $20,000. Outside the Honors Program, competitive money here tends to be smaller donor awards. That’s why finishing the Scholarship Universe profile matters. It’s one application that puts your student in front of every donor fund at once.
❓ Competitive Scholarship FAQs
When is the donor scholarship deadline?
February 15. The application opens November 1 in Scholarship Universe, and new students log in with the BSU username and password from their acceptance email. The 2027-28 window is open now.
How much are Bowie’s donor scholarships worth?
Bowie doesn’t publish amounts, and each fund sets its own rules. Treat them as gap fillers that can cover a book bill or part of housing, not as the thing that makes Bowie affordable.
Does my student need to reapply every year?
Yes. Donor scholarships are awarded one year at a time, so plan on a new Scholarship Universe application every November to February.
What is the Richard W. Collins III Leadership with Honor Scholarship?
It’s a Maryland state award for ROTC students at the state’s four public HBCUs, named for a Bowie State ROTC cadet who was killed in 2017 days before graduating. Maryland law sets aside at least 25% of the money for Bowie State students. Recipients must be eligible for in-state tuition and be in ROTC, and awards are at least $1,000 a year. Bowie hosts Army ROTC and the only Air Force ROTC program at a Maryland HBCU. It shows up with the Maryland state aid cards.
When is the Collins deadline?
The dates don’t match. Bowie’s page lists May 1 for best consideration and July 1 as final. The state’s own pages point to later dates. Go with Bowie’s May 1, and also turn in Bowie’s Institutional Verification Form through the Army ROTC office.
Is Bowie a QuestBridge or Stamps partner?
No. Neither program lists Bowie State as a partner.
https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarship-opportunities/
https://www.bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarship-opportunities/other-scholarships/leadership-with-honor.php
https://mhec.maryland.gov/preparing/Pages/prog_richardcollins.aspx
https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2021rs/Chapters_noln/CH_239_hb1124t.pdf
Honors Program at Bowie State University
Bowie State has an Honors Program (not a separate honors college), and it’s home to the single biggest award on campus. Freshmen accepted into the program receive a full scholarship covering tuition, fees, books, and room and board every year. On a campus with almost no automatic merit money, this is the one true full ride.
- Freshman benchmarks for the full scholarship: 3.5 GPA and a 1200 SAT or 25 ACT
- Test scores: Required for Honors, even though regular admission is test-optional
- How it starts: Get admitted first. Bowie then sends an official notice to students selected to apply.
- Also required: The FAFSA (school code 002062), which opens October 1
Honors Program Scholarships
*Bowie doesn’t publish how many full scholarships it awards each year. Its 2014 aid policy lists lower benchmarks (3.3 GPA, 1100 SAT, 24 ACT), but the current Honors pages use the higher numbers shown here.
- Grades: Keep a 3.5 cumulative GPA with continuous full-time enrollment.
- Coursework: 24 Honors credits, including Honors general education courses where offered.
- Service: 200 hours of documented community service.
- Engagement: 16 cultural events, monthly Honors meetings, and at least one graduate or professional school exam (like the GRE or LSAT).
- Perks: A private Honors suite with a computer lab, lounge, seminar room, and small library, trips to competitions like the Honda Campus All-Star Challenge, and an honors notation on the diploma.
Honors Program: FAQs (Bowie State University)
Is the Honors scholarship automatic if my student hits 3.5 and 1200?
No. Those numbers get your student considered. Bowie calls it highly competitive and limited-entry, and invites selected admitted students to apply.
My student applied test-optional. Can they still get Honors?
Not for the full scholarship. Bowie’s admissions page says Honors candidates must still send test scores. If your student has a 1200 SAT or 25 ACT (or can get one), send it.
What happens if my student drops below a 3.5?
The program requires a 3.5 cumulative GPA to stay in, and the scholarship goes with the program. Ask the Honors office about any probation period before your student commits.
Does the Honors scholarship stack with other aid?
Mostly no. It already covers the full bill, and Bowie says it may adjust the award if other scholarships or grants come in. Outside money still helps with things like travel and personal costs.
Can transfers or current students join?
Yes, with a 3.5 GPA (transfers need 15+ college credits; current students need a full fall and spring plus two faculty recommendations). They join the program but aren’t considered for the full scholarship.
https://bowiestate.edu/academics/special-programs/undergraduate-honors-program/honors-admission-requirements.php
https://bowiestate.edu/academics/special-programs/undergraduate-honors-program/benefits.php
https://bowiestate.edu/academics/special-programs/undergraduate-honors-program/program-requirements.php
https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/undergraduate-admissions/freshman-admissions.php
⭐ College Specialty
Bowie State began in 1865 as a school for training Black teachers, and it’s still Maryland’s first and oldest HBCU. Today it’s a mid-sized public university that punches above its size in a few specific areas. Its location matters too: being close to Washington, Baltimore, and the federal agencies in between opens real internship and career doors.
Computer Science and Cybersecurity. The National Security Agency and Department of Homeland Security have recognized Bowie’s cybersecurity education as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense since 2009, one of the earliest HBCUs to earn it. The department also runs a CyberCorps scholarship that pays students to train for government cyber jobs.
- Business: The most popular major on campus. The Entrepreneur Living and Learning Community and the Bowie Business Innovation Center (Maryland’s first HBCU-based business accelerator) give future business owners a real head start.
- Nursing: An accredited bachelor’s program that graduates a steady stream of new RNs each year.
- Education: Bowie’s founding mission. Teaching students get early classroom time in Prince George’s County schools, and math and science education majors can earn a $24,000 Noyce scholarship.
- Broadcasting and Digital Media: A busy radio and television program for students headed toward media careers in the D.C. market.
- Criminal Justice and Psychology: Two of the largest majors, with clear paths into public service, counseling, and graduate school.
🔗 Official Bowie State University Links
Use Bowie State’s official pages below to double-check deadlines, scholarship rules, and costs before you make decisions. When something on this page and Bowie’s page disagree, call the office and get the answer in writing.
-
Undergraduate Admissions:
https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/undergraduate-admissions/ -
Freshman Admissions, Deadlines & Financial Aid Dates:
https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/undergraduate-admissions/freshman-admissions.php -
Test-Optional Policy:
https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/undergraduate-admissions/test-optional-policy.php -
Scholarship Opportunities:
https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarship-opportunities/ -
Financial Aid Office:
https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/financial-aid/ -
Tuition & Fees:
https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/tuition-and-fees/ -
Housing & Meal Plan Rates (2026-2027):
https://bowiestate.edu/about/administration-and-governance/division-of-administration-and-finance/office-of-student-accounts-archived/tuition-and-fees/housing-and-meal-fees.php -
Net Price Calculator:
https://npc.collegeboard.org/app/bowiestate -
Honors Program:
https://bowiestate.edu/academics/special-programs/undergraduate-honors-program/ -
Residency for Tuition Purposes:
https://bowiestate.edu/admissions-and-aid/undergraduate-admissions/residency-information.php